Hershey Chocolate Vanilla Pudding Summer Pie

Every time I say I want to post a recipe, I get carried away with fictional writing. Seven recipes behind and my eagerness to archive them has recently turned a thrilling habit into one that resembles procrastination combined with the feeling of dreadful effort…you know, the feeling you get when you’re actually at work. So I am here to cut it all short because the mystery of whether I will get to blog all of them overwhelms me.

I will start with this Hershey chocolate pie that I made about a week and a half ago. The weather was in a dramatic play, and it won Best Day of the Year. It was almost 30 degrees in the capital city and I spent it at the beach (all day- with a burn to satisfy my brutal winter shade of white).

Hershey Chocolate Vanilla Pudding Summer Pie Recipe

Total time: 30 min + chilling time

Serving size: 8

Ingredients

  • 1 Vanilla Instant Pudding Jello Mix (1 pouch)
  • 2 cups milk
  • 1 cup Hershey chocolate
  • 1 Kraft Cool Whip Lite Whipped Topping, 8 oz
  • 1 Honey Maid Graham Cracker Crumb box
  • 1/2 cup of margarine (or butter) +more if needed
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Process

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix graham cracker crumbs with 1/2 cup of margarine or butter. You might need more or less depending on the consistency of the crumbs. To tell, if you can create a firm ball with the mix, it is good for spreading. If you can’t, and the crumbs continue to fall out, add more margarine or butter in.
  3. Distribute mixture evenly into a pie dish that is oven-proof. Bake for 15 minutes, or until golden brown. You can certainly skip this step; however, I felt it necessary as my graham crumbs were not setting properly in the dish (crumbs everywhere). Baking resolved this issue.
  4. In a hand or electric mixer (I used electric), mix the vanilla pudding with 2 cups of milk and 1 tsp of vanilla extract, OR, according to the instructions on the vanilla pudding box.
  5. Transfer pudding into a bowl and set aside.
  6. In the microwave, or on a stove-top, melt the Hershey chocolate. If done in a microwave, heat in 30 second intervals. If done on a stove-top, fill a small pot with water, then place your chocolate bowl over the simmering water. If you’re unsure how this is done, google or youtube the process before continuing as it could get a little tricky (and even slightly frightful). I melted my chocolate in the microwave to skip the hassle.
  7. Stirr the melted chocolate into the vanilla pudding mix until well combined. Set aside.
  8. Once the pie has baked, let it cool down completely.
  9. After the pie has cooled down, pour the chocolate-pudding mixture into the pie dish.
  10. Top with Kraft Lite Cool Whip.
  11. Transfer to fridge and chill for one hour.

Enjoy!

Lessons Learned: I LOVED this recipe. Have you ever had the Hershey pie from Burger King? This one looks and tastes familiarly close. The recipe was also simple and hassle-free. It just requires some pre-planning a day before to buy all the ingredients. Also, I can’t wait to try various flavours in this pie. It was delicious!

 

mmmmm..yum!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

