P&J Waffle Sandwich

“There is no glory in star or blossom till looked upon by a loving eye; There is no fragrance in April breezes till breathed with joy as they wander by.” – William C. Bryant

As my apple watch closes its rings for the day, I sat wondering if I had a piece of gum to cultivate my sweet tooth– but I didn’t. I thought, I had been doing great with my carb intake for the day so I could afford a piece or two of something sweet, something homemade. So, I turned an old pancake recipe I had into a healthy waffle version. It worked just great. The thought-process behind the peanut butter and strawberry jelly came unexpectedly as I fidgeted with my toppings after realizing that aunt Jemima was nowhere to be found. I thought I would put a teaspoon of peanut butter, and that looked aesthetically unappealing to photograph. I thought maybe some colour would help …here the strawberry jam makes its appearance ..and then soon after realizing that both ingredients will not make it on my Instagram page, I put the two waffles together like a sandwich and took a bite.

Two words: must repeat.

P&J Healthy Waffle Sandwich Recipe 

Total time: 6 minutes

Serves: 1 regular waffle

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup of flour
  • 1/3 cup of non-fat milk
  • 1/4 cup egg white
  • 1 tablespoon of ‘It tastes like butter, butter’
  • 3 Stevia sugar packets
  • a pinch of salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder

Process

  1. Mix all dry ingredients together and create a well in the middle.
  2. Mix milk, egg, and butter together.
  3. Pour mixture into the ‘well’ in the dry ingredients.
  4. The mixture will be slightly thick, but still runny. You can adjust the thickness by adding water (if it is too thick).

Lessons Learned: This is originally a pancake recipe that I blogged before (see: Fluffy Pancakes, Healthier Too). I remember raving over my pancakes being very fluffy and delicious, and the same happened making the recipe as a waffle. My waffle iron literally opened up as soon as I closed the lid (I am assuming this is the cause and effect of the baking powder). Part of the reason I didn’t try a new waffle recipe is because I remember how truly great this one was. I made a sandwich with half of the waffle to cut calories …but what’s the point? All things change from here.

