A Great Belgian Waffles Recipe

I have never made waffles before. In fact, I just purchased my very first waffle iron yesterday. But because I was worried about my inability to operate a waffle iron (it turned out to be dummy proof)- starting out with a really good recipe I knew would make all the difference. I read, and read, and read, until I settled on this recipe. It was light, fluffy, crispy on the outside, and entirely delicious.

Belgian Waffle Recipe

Total time: 35 min

Serving size: 4 (but it made 3 for me)

Ingredients 

  • 1 egg +1/4 cup egg white
  • 1-1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup and 3 tablespoons milk
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 4 1/2 tablespoons white sugar
  • 2-3/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Process

  1. Beat the egg and egg white in a stand mixer until light and fluffy.
  2. Add milk, oil, and vanilla extract.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix flour, salt, sugar, and baking powder together.
  4. Fold into egg mixture until combined (and smooth).
  5. Use about 1 cup of mixture into your waffle iron, or whatever is suitable to the shape and size of your iron.

Lessons Learned: I modified this recipe because it called for 2 tsp of sugar and I just knew that would not be enough. I also read a lot of reviews on this recipe and most people did the same. Also, whipping the egg and egg white before combining the dry ingredients helped create the ‘fluffy’ texture (according to many who have tried this recipe- there’s about 5K of them:D). Lastly, I found leaving the mixture out on the counter for about 30 minutes helped create an even more ‘airy’ and light waffle. I just cut up the strawberries during that time (because cutting equal rations takes me that long); as you can see, still needs work.

Recipe taken from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/22180/waffles-i/

img_9187

img_9284

2 thoughts on “A Great Belgian Waffles Recipe

  1. Simply Splendid Food says:

    You are probably right about the resting of the mixture. I have heard the same principle applied to pancake batter. The “Galloping Gourmet” ( an old TV chef ) said to put the batter in the frig for about 30 minutes. You probably have something there. 💖 💖 💖

    • A Full Spoon of... says:

      Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment! You know, I first learned that from my mother …I would see her rest her batter(s) whenever she made pancakes, crepes, sponge cakes, etc.. and I quickly learned that that was the best way to do it. However, I think we often just skip that step (wagering that it might still turn out great if the recipe did not call for ‘resting the mixture’). But I guess if you know you know; resting the pancake/waffle batter will always be a thing I will make sure not to skip next time 🙂 Thanks for the comment again!

Comments are closed.