Fresh Pasta

Making fresh pasta for the very first time could make any amateur cook feel as though the opened gates to experienced cookery have respectfully allowed them in. It was a great experience making fresh pasta for the very first time, one that I reckon I might recall years to come as my mother’s face of delight and shock gracefully coloured her face. Tell me what two simple ingredients in cooking, combined, have such exhilarating powers when created? Flour and egg. That is all one needs to move up the ladder with a title change that deems the amateur farewell and elevates the ‘ostentatious’ in cook. Carbs alone aren’t gained from making fresh pasta, but a sense of ego promising to make you larger than life.

Pan-seared Tilapia served with Fresh Pasta 

Total time: 10 minutes

Ingredients

  • Fresh or frozen Tilapia Fillet
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Lemon squeeze
  • Oregano *optional
  • Fresh basil

Process

  1. Season the tilapia as you like.
  2. On a stove top, heat a lightly oiled pan until it is quite hot (but not to the extent of burning the tilapia).
  3. Cook the tilapia fillet for about 3-5 minutes of each side (you should hear a sizzling sound when you place it on the pan which will create a nice crispy texture on the outside), making sure it is equally rotated and cooked on all sides.
  4. Top with lemon squeeze and fresh basil.

IMG_1124

Fresh Pasta

  • 1 cup of flour
  • 2 eggs
  • pinch of salt* optional

Since it was my first time making pasta, I followed my heart a little (as I usually do). The texture was firm but soft, and the dough held its shape. I refrigerated the dough for 30 minutes before I used it. Failing to chill the dough results in a bubbly texture (bubbles will form on the dough), failing to replicate the texture and taste of pasta. After properly chilling it, work it through a pasta machine to achieve the result you’re looking for (depending on the type of pasta you’re making). I learned that fresh pasta takes about 90 seconds to cook. If you did not add salt to the dough, salting the water in this step is best.

IMG_1102

 

 

 

 

 

 

