‘Heavenly’ Angel Cake with Caramelized Strawberry

“Green was the silence, wet was the light,

the month of June trembled like a butterfly.”

Pablo Neruda,

June, welcome. The intensity of green, blue, pink, purple, and red, visible in the flowers of my mother’s backyard, delight that voice inside me that whispers ‘ah’ while I am having my morning coffee, and reading Henry James. The portrait of this lady is rather this: I am happiest in the summer, and I always make sure that for granted I do not take the intense scorch, or where the sun ray lay. The long day, the brightness of the light, the sound of the birds and the buzzing bees, and the smell of sunscreen, all, absolutely all, entice me.

There are a number of indulgences I find myself completely immersed in during the summer season. Extensive reading- more so with the view of many shades of blue, exercising persistently, and frequent cooking are to name a few. I do not quite know the explanation of these frequencies, but they’re there, and I seem to be the most at ease because they exist.

But with persistent exercise comes cautious cooking, and thankfully, summer is a kind season as it offers us the chance to consume healthier foods, whether we intend for it or not. The abundance of fruits and vegetables, and the many ways we tend to find ways to incorporate them into our recipes and salads, is plenty hearty. I always find myself opting for grilled proteins, rather than oven-cooked meals. I would much rather enjoy waiting for my food to cook while I am in the sun, rather than be kneeled down on the kitchen floor peeping every so often at my oven door (which I have a habit of doing).

However, summer is also accompanied with guilty cravings. And to nip this in the bud, at an early stage, I try making recipes that are delicious, and low-fat (with a bit of calorie consciousness, as well).

Angel Food Cake with Caramelized Strawberry and Low-Fat Vanilla Yogurt Ice-cream 

Total Time: 25 minutes

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 box of ready-to-make angel food cake (or try this awesome recipe: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/7324/angel-food-cake-i/)
  • 1 cup of sliced strawberries
  • 1/3 cup of sugar
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • Low-fat vanilla yogurt ice-cream

Process

  1. Cook the angel cake following the instructions on the box. Since I poured mine into mini bundt-cake shaped pans, they cooked for about 20 minutes. The top must be golden brown. Once they are done, cool them on their side completely before slowly removing them from the pans.
  2. To make the caramelized strawberries: Combine strawberries, along with 1/2 cup sugar and 1/4 cup of water in a small pot on the stove. On high heat, stir the ingredients together until the sugar dissolves. Once they begin to boil, continue to stir until the sugar starts to thicken. Once it starts reducing, switch the heat to low, and allow to simmer for about 10 minutes. Reduce it down to the consistency you like.

Lessons Learned: I absolutely loved this (can hardly be called) recipe. It was delicious, and if you would like to compare the taste to something you’ve tried before, I’d say the taste closely resembles pancakes topped with strawberries and cream. The low-fat vanilla yogurt ice-cream replaces the whipped or heavy cream, yet providing a replica taste of it. For the sugar in my caramelized strawberries, I mixed Stevia sweeter with two tablespoons of sugar. It provided me with the same sweetness I was hoping for, with a bit less calories I hope. The mint garnish, to my surprise, really does contribute to the taste. It is more than just a garnish it seems.

IMG_1063

Enjoy!

 

 

 

