Three years today; celebrating with a classic!

I received a little notification from WordPress wishing my blog a happy anniversary. Today would mark its three year anniversary; meaning, I began my masters degree three summers ago, ending with my convocation coming up next Friday. WOW!  I’m truly amazed. This has been the most enjoyable experience for me. Cooking, baking, blogging, and finishing my masters degree … immense memories and stories have been declared in this blog, and it makes me really happy to have documented everything.

I have decided, out of pure coincidence, to revisit an old recipe I tried out  the first week of blogging. It was titled ‘Low fat chocolate and banana oat cake’. I remember it being one of the easiest and most delicious recipes I’ve baked. So, in order to mark this three year anniversary with a little celebratory post, why not bake one of the first things I baked when I began this journey? I added a few extra ingredients for the sake of flare, and as a declaration of three years’ entitlement of some baking experience 🙂 I absolutely love this recipe because it is so versatile. It can be used as a crumb beside a deliciously homemade ice cream, or with caramelized strawberries, or even jam. But I enjoy it the most warmed up a little, just the way it is 🙂

Recipe

Recipe taken from: http://nibbledish.com/people/HungryJenny/recipes/almost-low-fat-chocolate-and-banana-oat-cake

Total time: 55 minutes (includes prep and baking time)

I’ve converted the recipe. In Lessons Learned, I tell you how I’ve made this even healthier (and still delicious).

  • 3 overripe bananas, sliced
  • 50g rolled oats ( a little shy of 1/4 cup)
  • 40g dark chocolate, grated ( 1/8 cup is 30 g, so a tiny bit more)
  • 150g plain flour (2/3 cup or 10 tablespoons + 2 teaspoons)
  • 125g sugar (1/2 cup + about 2-3 tablespoons)
  • 75ml veggie oil ( 4 tablespoons)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Half tsp baking soda

Process:

  1. Whisk the egg with the oil and sugar. Mix in 2 of the bananas.
  2. Sift in the plain flour and fold in the oats, chocolate, cinnamon, baking soda and bicarbonate of soda.
  3. Pour into a greased tin and scatter more oats on top, followed by the remaining sliced banana.
  4. Bake at 180 degrees C for about 40-50 minutes until you can pull a skewer out clean.

Lessons Learned: To make this recipe a tiny bit more on the healthier side (extra healthy for those days I’ve exhausted every bone and would like to show for it the next day), I’ve decided to omit the egg and oil. Now, yes this might be a little dry, and you can easily add apple sauce or greek vanilla yogurt as a replacement for a liquid, but I just did not have any, or else I would have opted for that option. However, with no liquid ingredient, I still had tasty results.

The changes were:

  • I added 1/4 cup of pitted majdool dates (the sweet and soft ones)
  • 1 tablespoon of pure honey as a replacement for the sugar this recipe calls for + with the sweetness of the banana and dates, you really won’t need any sugar
  • I added honey vanilla granola to my batch (it was a delicious addition!) Just a little though, still needed to cut the calories 🙂
  • I reduced my baking time to 30 minutes because it was simply done by then.

The results? Well, you tell me.

IMG_0951

 

