Dates & Banana Oats Bar

I once made my fiancé a dates and oats bar recipe that he absolutely loved. I mean, he truly loved it. I remember as I was mixing the ingredients, I would eat bits and pieces before even baking it, absolutely blown away by how delicious the recipe was. Sadly, I never saved the recipe. And ever since, I have been searching for it among the deep sea of dates and oats bar recipes available both on Pinterest and the Internet.

And no, this isn’t the recipe.

Instead, this is a really good dates and oats bar with banana added to the mix. It might not redeem my lost treasure, but it is really good that I am bogging about it since I would like to have it in the future. I think the reason this is partly so good is because it only requires 4 ingredients: banana, dates, oats, and nuts. The rest is optional.

IMG_8284

 

Recipe

Total time: 40 minutes (30 min baking time)

Recipe taken from: http://www.thekitchn.com/recipe-4-ingredient-banana-oat-bars-snack-recipes-from-the-kitchn-156571

Ingredients

  • 2 large bananas
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup pitted, chopped dried dates
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts

Optional Ingredients 

  • 1/2 teaspoon grated nutmeg or cinnamon (optional)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt (optional)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (optional)
  • Shredded coconut and chocolate drizzle (for decoration ;))

Process

  1. Heat the oven to 350°F and lightly grease a 9-x9-inch square baking dish with olive oil or butter. Or, you can take the mixture and shape it like a square with your hands and place it on a lightly greased parchment paper.
  2. Mix the bananas, oats, dates, and nuts together until the texture is mushy.
  3. If you decided to add the optional ingredients (and you don’t have to), you can stir in the vanilla, salt, and cinnamon and/or nutmeg.
  4. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until the edges just begin to crisp up.

Lessons Learned: I loved the simplicity of this recipe. It was hassle-free. I think I might add some protein powder next time since I do plan on snacking on this bar post-workout. I assume it will taste equally delicious with figs, coconut inserted into the recipe, honey, and/or pumpkin seeds.

Enjoy! 🙂

