Post-workout Asian-Inspired Salad

I have been determined to drop those last (very stubborn) 15 pounds. So, I have been sticking to a very serious workout regime (cardio, HIIT training, weights, and..my favourite yet, boxing). For someone who loves to workout, sticking to a regime wasn’t such a challenge. But, doing it six times a week is! What I did notice, however, is that your body CAN do it. Without any excessive preaching, I never thought that my body was capable of being pushed this far, surviving it, and wanting to do it all over again the next day.

And, also, buying a boxing stand that you can easily place in your room, paired with some boxing gloves, is …seriously…worth it. It also makes working out so much more challenging, engaging, and fun. I highly recommend it!

Anyway, with that (some-what necessary) introduction, I came here to blog about my post-workout salad. Some salads are needless to blog about, but clearly this is not one of those salads. It.was.delicious.

IMG_8063

Asian- Inspired Salad Recipe

Recipe taken from: http://www.willcookforfriends.com/2015/08/asian-sesame-cucumber-salad.html

Total Time: 15 min

Ingredients (specially what I put in it- might differ a little from actual recipe)

  • 2 seedless or hothouse cucumbers, grated
  • Cooked noodles (any kind you prefer)
  • Shredded carrots
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 TBSP apple cider vinegar
  • 1 TBSP fresh lime juice (about half a lime)
  • 2-3 TBSP honey, to taste
  • pinch of red pepper flakes, to taste
  • ½-1 TBSP toasted sesame seeds
  • 1/2 tsp poppy seeds
  • 1/2 scallion, sliced

Process

  1. Cook the noodles and toast the sesame seeds.
  2. While noodles and sesame seeds are cooking, mix the rest of the ingredients together.
  3. Add the noodles and sesame seeds to the mix. Toss. Enjoy!

Lessons Learned: I bought a bag of shredded carrots that made this so much more easier than if I had to do it by hand. Instead of the ‘noodle-like’ cucumber, and since I did not have a spiralizer, I decided to add a bit of (real) noodles for some carbs. It was a great idea. I also omitted the sesame oil (as it is extremely high in fat, and calories).

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Post-workout Asian-Inspired Salad

Comments are closed.