Fondant Vanilla Cake

After working with fondant for the first time and having the experience turn out great (previous post: sweetest birthday cake) – I am now arrogant. Somehow I now think that I can make ANY cake with fondant :s …and the truth is, well, my arrogance has not been completely shattered just yet (but continue reading: I will mention where I went wrong in ‘Lessons Learned’ below)! I went ahead and tried my luck with fondant again with this vanilla cake I made for my best friend to celebrate her arrival from London. The experience?  not so bad. I wouldn’t say it went without flaws, but overall, decorating a fondant cake with flowers is a way to hide imperfections, isn’t it? 🙂

I did mention before this really great tasting vanilla cake and buttercream frosting recipe I found this year, didn’t I? If you aren’t sure what I mean, visit “The Sweetest Birthday Cake” post- recipes are there. I really love this cake recipe for its simplistic ingredients, yet delicious result. And I have found no flaws in this recipe so far. Now as for decorating with fondant,  I went ahead and saw a couple of “How to cover a cake with fondant videos” online and I went for it. It is not as scary as most people make it out to be. It is in fact quite easy! ….Arrogance, didn’t I warn you?

IMG_7425

Most importantly, when working with fondant, keep in mind these tiny tips:

  • You may want to warm up your ‘store-bought’ fondant (I used Wilton’s bought from Michaels Craft Store) in the microwave for about 30 seconds tops.
  • Then, dust your surface with powdered sugar as this makes rolling so much easier.
  • If you want to colour your fondant, just put a drop or two of your preferred food colouring on it, no problem. But, you might want to wear gloves first!
  • Depending on the size of your cake, you might want to cut your fondant into equal parts. For these three layered cakes, I used a small box of fondant.
  • Roll your fondant into a round circle, but do not make it too thin or too thick. Just trust your instincts on this one.
  • Then, use the rolling pin to roll the fondant over the pin so you can cover your cake with the fondant. This helps, rather than peeling the fondant off the surface and placing it on your cake yourself, the pin works better.
  • I used a pizza cutter to cut the unwanted bits from the cake. It made it easier, rathe than using a knife.
  • Decorate with flowers or icing to hide imperfections 😉

IMG_7423

Lessons Learned

 I will say this: working with smaller shapes of cakes is harder than I thought. First, bake time for each cake differs (I had three different sizes: large, medium, and small). You have to pay attention to this or you’ll end up with dry or burnt cake. Luckily, that wasn’t the case for me. The tricky part for me was getting my cakes frosted. I cut each cake in half to frost them in the middle, but once I assembled them, my cakes were not straight. So, I had to fill the middle with bits of cake crumble and this created somewhat of a mess. Luckily, with some patience and prayer, I managed to frost all cakes and freeze them for a couple of hours. Then, I frosted them again to make sure they had another layer of frosting on top.  Finally, I began working with the fondant, which was fairly easy. However, if you turn my cakes around, you might still see some uneven cake…but I didn’t take a picture of that 😉 I guess I have a long way to go before I get completely arrogant about working with fondant!

IMG_7343

IMG_7344

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

