Bread Cones

Once I saw this on Pinterest, I immediately pre-heated my oven. I love creative recipes…and bread. So, it was no surprise I had to try it!

What I love most about this recipe (besides the arts & craft that goes into making the cones) is that it is quite simple, and yet simply delicious. This recipe can also be adapted into sweet or savoury options, which I absolutely love. I initially did not want to blog this recipe because I did not take beautiful photos worthy of the social blogging sphere, but, sticking to the origin of this blog, the recipes I blog are more for my future self and are part of my recipe digital book, so, keeping that in mind, I knew I needed to have it. 🙂 ( ps. with that being said, I truly appreciate the comments I receive from other fellow food bloggers who are here sharing personal day to day recipes like me, and with me).

At first, I coated my cones with sesame seeds mixed with sugar, and the alternative cones with poppy seeds. But, as I made this recipe twice by now (yes, twice in the span of four days :D) in the despair plea of wanting to perfect the sizes of my cones, I began coming up with more ideas for this recipe. I think what would pair well with this bread recipe is shredded coconut incorporated into the dough, or simply coated on top, or putting raisins and cinnamon into the recipe, or even the good ol’ classic cinnamon and sugar coating on top! With the softness of this dough, I think it would be delicious …and something I am going to try very soon! And of course, for savoury options, you can add chives and cheese, cheese and herbs, or even olives and herbs! yum!

See 'Lessons Learned' to fix my uneven cone mistake if you decide to try this. :)

See ‘Lessons Learned’ to fix my uneven cone mistake if you decide to try this. 🙂

Delicious!

Delicious!

Bread Cone Recipe

Recipe taken from: http://homecookinginmontana.blogspot.ca/2009/06/bread-cones.html

Total time: 1 hour and 50 min (with resting time)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons oil
  • 1/4 cup sugar (I used 5 small packets of Stevia sweetener)
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/4 teaspoon instant yeast
  • 3 1/2 to 4 cups bread flour

Process

  1. Pour the milk and water into a saucepan and heat to a scald. Pour this into your large mixing bowl and allow to cool to lukewarm.
  2. Add in the oil, sugar and salt; mix with a wooden spoon until well blended.
  3. Add in the beaten egg and 2 cups of flour; mix till smooth with a wooden spoon.
  4. Add in the instant yeast and mix.
  5. Allow to sit for 10 minutes uncovered. Now, start to slowly add in more flour. I added 1 1/2 cups…a total of 3 1/2 cups of flour. I used my Kitchen Aid to do the mixing for 6-8 minutes.
  6. Add a tablespoon of oil to a clean bowl and place the dough into the bowl. Turn over a few times to lightly coat all sides of the dough with the oil.
  7. Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rest until the dough doubles in bulk, about 1 or 1.5 hours.
  8. Remove dough and knead a few times. It is easier to cut the dough into 8 small square pieces. This helps when you are about to make the rope.
  9. Allow the dough to rest for 5 minutes. Take each piece of dough and roll into a 36 inch rope. It was hard for me to make equal shapes, and equal consistency. Perhaps you can use a scale to measure this part.
  10. Roll the dough ropes on a flat service (I rolled it on wood; do not flour the surface) around the greased 6 inch cones.
  11. Place onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and brush with the egg glaze or spray with cooking oil spray (like I did). Sprinkle sesame seeds or poppy seeds(or both). Or, whatever else you like 🙂 Enjoy!

IMG_7328

Making the bread cones

  1. I used magazine paper (about 4-5 papers on each cone) to make the cones.
  2. I then wrapped them in foil to cover the paper (make sure it is well covered).
  3. I greased the cone before I rolled the dough on.

IMG_6781

IMG_6784

Lessons Learned

  1. I should have rolled the dough into much smaller rolls. They tend to expand in the oven and double in size, so, the smaller you can go, the better with these.
  2. I let the cones rest after I rolled them and placed them on the trays. Another 30 minutes or so, this made them extra soft!
  3. A side note: the consistency of the dough will most definitely depend on the mixing speed and time of your dough mixer. I used the Kitchen Aid mixer and I left it on medium speed for about 8 minutes. After that, I did not rush the rising of my dough, so it took about close to 2 hours. The more it rests, the better results you’ll get.

 

Now, I am off to bake my best friend a cake. She arrives tomorrow from London and I am going to bake her one of the best vanilla cake recipes I’ve discovered this year 😀

IMG_7323

 

Leave a Reply

