Butter Rose Cookies

I found this recipe last night while I was taking a break from my research paper and randomly filtering through Pinterest’s baking posts (which could be really addicting): I came across these beautiful rose cookies. After I made them, I was blown away by how easy the process was, yielding such delicious (buttery, crumbly, tasty) cookies. I am blogging the recipe very quickly before I head out to work so I don’t forget to do it later on. This recipe is definitely a keeper, as I would l love to see the expression on my loved ones faces in the future!

Ps. they make great gifts, too. I wrapped 4 in a bag and put a ribbon on it for when I meet my friend for dinner later on today. There’s nothing sweeter than receiving home-made cookies (I think).

IMG_3527

Recipe

Total time: 15 min

Ingredients

100 g unsalted butter, softened
40 g powdered sugar
1 egg white
1 tsp vanilla extract
¼ tsp salt
160 g all-purpose flour
1 Tbsp thick jam (apple, strawberry, or any other). If not thick enough, add ½ tsp cornstarch

Process

  1. Preheat oven to 425F
  2. Soften the butter by letting it sit at room temperature for 40 minutes or microwave it for about 15-20 seconds. Add powdered sugar and mix thoroughly
  3. Add the egg white, vanilla extract, salt and mix well
  4. Add flour and mix well
  5. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper
  6. Place the dough into a disposable pastry bag with a large star tip and pipe cookies onto the baking sheet. The cookies should be about 2 inches in diameter
  7. Using a ¼ thick stick, gently press in the center of each cookie, about half way. You want to make a little dent, not a hole. Fill the centers with a little bit of jam
  8. Bake at 425F for about 8-10 minutes, until the sides of cookie are starting to turn golden brown

Lessons Learned: The conversion from grams to cups was the trickiest part to this. I also realized there aren’t many websites (good ones) for this?! Which is quite odd. I found one semi-OK website that made conversions slightly easier for me, but I lost the website now. Anyhow, the texture of the overall batter must be smooth, and holds together. For example, I should be able to form it into a ball and hold together. But, you also don’t want it to be too stiff, or else you won’t be able to pipe it and make the rose shape. And, of course, not too runny or your cookies will melt away in the oven and eventually fall apart. Keep a medium consistency with the cookie dough. You can pipe into them whatever jam you like; it adds such a wonderful taste to the cookies (coming from someone who only prefers jam with peanut butter slithered on toast).

Enjoy 🙂

Recipe taken from: http://ifoodblogger.com/shortbread-cookies-jam/

IMG_3489

Let them cool first, or they might fall apart!

Let them cool first, or they might fall apart!

 

