Oat & Honey Bread (one of the best, really!)

I went grocery shopping yesterday to get ready for a fresh new start at work (I’ve returned to teaching), and fresh new eating habit (that is)- the holiday baking exterminated my waist line. But, I forgot to buy bread! I love buying fresh baked bread, and the ‘healthier’ selection that’s out there compared to a year ago is incredible. There’s bread with flaxseed, and oat- a piece of information I’ve been clueless about until now. I talked about the revolutionization of food in my previous posts, so I won’t go into it. But truly, it’s overwhelmingly impressive.  I loved that idea: oats in bread. So, I decided to make it at home.

Somehow, honestly, I struck gold with this recipe. My mother could attest to this as she has baked plenty of breads in her lifetime. It was one of the most delicious breads I’ve ever had. And this is a declaration from a truly bread devourer said in a vain attempt of courtesy of not sounding vain.

Ps. My research is going great- I think the trick to research really is, once you’ve completed it, does it then make sense. It’s complicated and paradoxical.

IMG_3435

Oat and Honey Bread

Recipe 

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • ¾ cup rolled oats, plus extra for sprinkling
  • 2¼ teaspoons instant yeast
  • 1½ teaspoons salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • ¼ cup water
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, softened
  • ¼ cup honey, plus extra, warmed honey for drizzling

Process

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees (but read recipe first as much resting time is needed)
  2. Add the flours, oats, yeast, and salt to the bowl of a stand mixer, or a large bowl.
  3. Warm the milk and the water in the microwave until comfortably warm–about 30-45 seconds. Add the milk/water mixture, butter, and honey to the bowl.
  4. Turn the mixer on low speed and knead until a rough ball forms. Then turn the mixer to medium speed and knead for 7-10 minutes, or until dough is smooth, elastic, and slightly tacky. If mixing by hand, mix in the bowl until a rough dough forms. Turn out onto a well floured surface and knead until the dough is no longer sticky, but smooth and slightly tacky.
  5. Place the dough in a greased bowl and cover with a damp cloth. Let rest in a warm place for 30-60 minutes, or until doubled in size.
  6. Turn out on to the counter and stretch into a 9×13″ rectangle. Roll up and place into a greased or parchment lined loaf pan, tucking the ends of the roll under itself to fit in the pan.
  7. Cover and let rest for 45 minutes.
  8. Once rested, slather warmed honey over the top and sprinkle with oats.
  9. Add a second, empty loaf pan to bottom rack of the oven and preheat oven to 350º F. Once preheated, add 1/4 cup of water to the empty loaf pan, then place the bread in the oven on the upper rack. This will create steam in the oven–essential for a perfect crust.
  10. Bake the bread for 40-50 minutes, or until the crust is golden brown.
  11. Remove to a rack to cool.

Lessons Learned: I followed the recipe, and it was pretty easy and self-explanatory. However, I didn’t have regular oat, so I used to packaged kind that came sweetened, and favoured. I used the maple sugar and cinnamon one- it was seriously heavenly delicious. Lastly, cover with foil if it begins to brown a lot (something I had to do).

Recipe taken from: http://mycookingspot.com/soft-honey-oat-bread/

Enjoy!

IMG_3388

IMG_3391

IMG_3437

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Oat & Honey Bread (one of the best, really!)

Leave a Reply

