New Year Fortune Cookies

Happy New Year!

2015 has been a wonderful year, just like the one (s) before it. I constantly pray, so on this one night I don’t make resolutions to break or keep. I trust my fate is best dealt with in God’s hand. But, if I were to make one resolution, I pray that God grants me only this to keep.

IMG_2905

Enjoy the recipe to these fortune cookies that I made, and thank you for following my blog! 🙂

Recipe 

Recipe taken from: http://www.thesemisweetsisters.com/2015/01/08/how-to-make-homemade-fortune-cookies/

Time to make: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 egg whites
  • ½ teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 Tablespoons oil (I used soybean)
  • ½ cup cake flour (may substitute with all purpose flour)
  • 1½ teaspoons corn or potato starch
  • ½ cup sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 3 teaspoons water

Process:

  1. Write out fortunes or type them up & cut them into strips. (You want them to be about 3″ by ¼”) Fold them in half if they are really long.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets with silicone baking mats or parchment paper.
  3. Whisk flour, sugar, starch, salt together in bowl, set aside.
  4. In a separate bowl whisk egg whites until frothy. Add in vanilla, oil, & water & whisk together.
  5. Add egg white mixture to flour mix & whisk together until smooth.
  6. Scoop tablespoons of batter onto prepared cookie sheets. Spaced about 3 inches apart. You should be able to fit about 6 on each cookie sheet. Using the back of a spoon spread out the batter to form a 4 inch circle.
  7. Bake for 8-12 minutes or until the ½” of the outside edge is golden brown.
  8. Remove from oven & flip it over with a metal spatula. Place fortune in the middle. Use the spatula to fold the cookie in half. Pick it up (it will be hot so be careful). Still holding the the folded cookie in both hands (between your thumb and index fingers) pull the ends down over the rim of a coffee mug, until the ends almost meet. Remember the opened side of the fortune cookie should be facing upwards.
  9. Place each cookie into a cupcake tin laying down so it will hold its shape while it cools. It should cool in about 10-15 minutes.

Lessons Learned: You must move quick with these once they are out of the oven. They dry out and become hard (crackable) within seconds, so you must burn some fingers in the process. I found that it’s best if I use my fingers to quickly place my quotes, fold them, and place them in the cupcake pan. I didn’t use a mug, or flip it with a spatula (like the blog suggested) or anything. It worked faster for me if I resulted to burning my own fingers. 🙂 Other than that, these make the cutest (and sweetest) gift. Enjoy!

IMG_2906

 

Leave a Reply

