Pinwheel Chocolate and Vanilla Cookies

I must have written this a while back, and I just came across it now.

Plato once famously said:

“At the touch of love, everyone becomes a poet”.

A poet or not, I am content with the thought that only I know what I meant when I wrote this then.

I heard stories of plenty smiles. Of a palm, when read, relays relief. And a shoulder so wide, it’s width resembles the blue sea. I heard subtle stories, so light, as light as air. Of glaring eyes, when blamed, convert into warmth. And of a chest, so deep, it’s depth covered earth. I heard them speak of kindness. Of appreciation and a little harmony in conversation. I heard them speak of shyness from mere kindness. I heard them speak of you.

_______________________________________________________

My kind mother, when I must have been 6 years old, baked these pinwheel chocolate and vanilla cookies. I remember they were so delicious; and whenever I take a trip back to memory lane, the moment I bit into one of these cookies always come to mind. I am not sure why, as my mother was a fantastic baker/cook, and naturally we had delicious food almost daily. But there are moments in our childhood we remember, for whatever reason, and they bring a smile to our faces 🙂 I’ve always remembered these cookies, and I’ve always wanted to make them. Finally, they have been made:)

Recipe 

IMG_2346 ths oe

Total time: 3 hours (2.5 hours in the fridge)

Recipe taken from: http://www.tasteofhome.com/recipes/basic-chocolate-pinwheel-cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 3 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 3-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup baking cocoa

Process

  1. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each. Beat in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder and salt; gradually add to the creamed mixture and mix well. 
  2. Divide dough in half; add cocoa to one portion. Divide each portion in half. On a baking sheet, roll out each portion between waxed paper into a 12-in. x 10-in. rectangle. Refrigerate for 30 minutes. 
  3. Remove waxed paper. Place one chocolate rectangle over a plain rectangle. Roll up tightly, jelly-roll style, starting with a long side; wrap in plastic wrap. Repeat with remaining dough. Refrigerate for 2 hours or until firm. Unwrap and cut into 1/4-in. slices. 
  4. Place 2 in. apart on lightly greased baking sheets. Bake at 350° for 10-12 minutes or until set. Remove to wire racks to cool. Yield: 6 dozen.

Lessons Learned: I followed the recipe to the T. I didn’t make any changes. However, I did leave the dough tightly wrapped in the fridge overnight as I started to bake pretty late in the night :s. The recipe calls for 10-12 minutes of bake time, mine took exactly 15 minutes. They will look like they aren’t cooked fully, but when you take them out, they dry out quickly and they will be indeed fully baked 🙂

Enjoy!

This picture was so helpful..

This picture was so helpful..

And this one ...

And this one …

IMG_2265

IMG_2343

IMG_2344

 

 

 

