14-day Vegan Diet Challenge

Oscar Wilde once said, “Everything popular is wrong”—which is perhaps ironic for a man whose words graced the covers of an adequate amount of greeting cards, or even the bio description of many social media wits.  But perhaps his declaration is mainly due to his overlooked legacy after his six famous publications in the late 1800s, which were sought of as ‘light’ literature at a time other literary and influential authors were making cultural and critical strides. OR, maybe he truly did dislike all things popular: for one, he quoted reading Dickens as “getting the urge to commit suicide”. :/ But, whatever his reasons might be, I always found Wilde to be intriguingly honest over social culture. It is hard to refute his claim when we think of it in terms of what has become popular today, especially the deconstruction of ethics and morality in publics’ opinion. It is no longer a question of right or wrong in society (maybe ‘right’ and ‘wrong’ do not exist in terms of explaining human behavior, but nonetheless) we are moving towards a society eager of collecting influences, than ideas.

This ramble was meant to get me to the point I wanted to make (somehow): What has become popular in terms of food in society (and I’ve blogged about this trend over organic, gluten-free, etc.before) is not something I tend to follow. I think food is revolutionary, and I agree to the notion of exploring options that might reinvent and renovate food ideas and inspirations, but being wary of buying into marketing schemes and conventions is also crucial.

I love grocery shopping because I get to explore the overflowing options. I’ve never followed a recipe to the T, so undoubtedly I love options when it comes to buying ingredients. I always buy reduced-calories, fat-free, and now exploring dairy-free, and gluten-free items. I don’t do them for what is popular, but perhaps what is popular has risen the demand of food companies creating food products that might taste delicious and be reduced in calories (or gluten-free, vegan, whole-free, rye, and the list goes on and on). So why not? I love food, and I love working out, so it is a constant exploration for me.

This exploration sometimes leads me to food challenges. I like to think that I could be up for challenges and surprise my body with something new, and learn something new. I tend to be bluntly boring with my food routines at times.  I decided to try this vegan challenge for fun, and yes, losing a couple of pounds will not hurt- and it is highly recommended. I figured, I don’t eat meat outside (Kosher, only), so whenever I buy meat, I tend to buy soy-based products, or even vegan- So- I am half way through the battle already, right? How hard could it be? Problem is, I love eggs. But I am only on my second day, and this is a 14-day challenge. Let’s see.

I will keep you updated!

Breakfast was: one bowl of rolled-oats with half-cup of non-diary milk and 5 almonds.

Snack for today was 1 cup of non-diary yogurt. But I added some nuts, too:P

food

Lunch will be: one cup of lentil soup, and a green mix salad.

Dinner: vegan burger wrapped in a whole-wheat tortilla, and a green salad with green pepper, onion, and cucumber.

Dessert: one medium peach.

Leave a Reply

