My 50th Blog Post: High ‘tea’ sandwiches to celebrate

I wish I knew prior to making these sandwiches how delicious they would turn out …and perhaps, just perhaps, that would have persuaded me from eating the entirety of this display picture in a day and a half :/

I have been slightly busy lately with preparing my thesis and teaching in the mornings. I thought I would get a nice break (one week) until I return to teaching in the college, but, with the amount of work and gym classes I convince myself I have time for, I haven’t blogged quite as much as I would have loved. However, I am still trying to squeeze in cooking/baking time in between. I remember my initial purpose of this blog; to cook my way out of grad school. Now with that being done (almost), I think I would love to eventually cook my way into culinary school. 🙂

Anyway, I really, really loved these sandwiches. They were super easy to make and tasted delicious. If you have any tea sandwich recipes, I would love to try them out. This is my first time making these, and I quite adore them, and wouldn’t mind to continue making them using different ingredients with exquisite taste that compliment each other.

Ps. The tea cup is empty. I know.

Pss. Thank you Lina for nominating my blog for the Versatile Blogger award. Just your mention and kind words about my blog were enough to make me smile 🙂

IMG_3874

 

Time to make: 20 minutes

Recipe:

Smoked Salmon and Feta Cheese sandwiches (top tray)

  • Smoked Salmon (however much you need). I bought the frozen kind as I did not find fresh smoked salmon in my grocery store.
  • Light feta cheese cubes
  • Fresh dill
  • Black Pepper

Egg Salad (second tray from top)

  • Boiled eggs (I used 2)
  • Dijon mustard
  • 1 tablespoon of fat-free yogurt (to replace mayonnaise; still tasted delicious)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1/4 teaspoon of paprika

Cucumber Sandwich (last tray)

  • Cucumber slices (thinly sliced)
  • Fresh dill
  • seasoning: salt and pepper

Procedure

I bought bread that had the crust already cut up (created especially for the purpose of tea sandwiches). It was perfect and made life easier. For each bread row, I thinly spread a layer of vegetable-based light becel margarine in order for my ingredients to hold together and not fall apart. So, on each side of the bread I spread some margarine. You can use butter if you are super keen on that buttery flavour, but I wanted this to be light and still tasty.

For the smoked salmon and feta cheese sandwich, I put margarine on both sides of the bread, I layered the bread with feta cheese, then smoked salmon, fresh dill, and sprinkled black pepper on top.

For the egg salad, I mixed all ingredients together in a bowel first. Then, I did not layer my bread with margarine for this sandwich because the egg salad was moist enough to hold my second bread together. I just put the egg salad on and cut it up.

Lastly, for the cucumber sandwich (which was my favourite one), I spread margarine on both sides of the bread, then I layered the bread with cucumber, fresh dill, and then seasoned with salt and pepper. It is important to season your cucumber sandwich or it will be bland.

Enjoy!

IMG_3875

 

 

One thought on “My 50th Blog Post: High ‘tea’ sandwiches to celebrate

Comments are closed.