A ‘Dates Cake’ recipe that is like no other!

My (future) sister-in-law gave me this recipe the other day and I just couldn’t wait to try it. But I knew that would be a little difficult considering the fact that my oven is currently not working. So, a little problem, right? A thought outside of the box wouldn’t hurt. I have decided to put my conventional wife-to-be duties on the line and see if I can cook a cake on the stove top. And …..IT WORKED…after much research time. I admit I was proud of myself, even though at one point I was crawling on the floor to check on the cake hoping it wouldn’t explode in my face (i.e., putting a plate face down in a hot pot and placing a cake pan on top of it to cook your cake could very well result in an explosion, but that’s how they said to do it online :/ )

This is a memorable recipe that I couldn’t wait to blog about. I can see myself making it times and times again in the future.

IMG_3707

Dates and Coconut Cake Recipe

Total time: 75 minutes

Ingredients 

  • 1 cup dates
  • 1 cup of hot water
  • 1 stick of butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of fine sugar
  • 1/4 spoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 spoon of baking soda
  • 2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • Dash of salt
Process
  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Soak dates with one cup of hot water and leave it until it until you are about to use it in the mixer. The water needs to roughly cool down and get a little cold. About 15 minutes.
  3. In a food mixer, add butter, vanilla, eggs, and sugar and mix until it is a cream mixture for 4-5 minutes. Then add the dates with the water and continue to mix them, for about 1-2 minutes. You want to make sure the dates are soft enough and the mixture has turned into a creamy texture.
  4. On the side, swift flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt together in a bowl. Add them  to your cake batter into the food processor again and mix until it resembles a cake batter.
  5. Place in the oven for 40-60 minutes.
Lessons Learned: Of course, as usual, I modify the recipes to resemble a healthier version. I used a plant-based margarine from Whole Foods mixed with Becel Butter to reduce the calories and fat as a replacement for my stick of butter (1/2 cup). The recipe asked for 1 cup of sugar and that was way too much I thought, so instead,  I added 5 small pocket packs of  Splenda. That was sufficient! I sprinkled coconut on top at the end, delicious.
Enjoy.

 

5 thoughts on “A ‘Dates Cake’ recipe that is like no other!

  1. Leigh says:

    You overcame a challenge ( your oven not working), you pressed forward and the result was a success! Good for you, very encouraging – thank you!

Comments are closed.