Shrimp Dumpling

Aside from my having culinary inspirations and being an avid food documentary viewer, I am a full-time language instructor with a thesis paper to write for my masters. I think that part of my daily food inspirations definitely come from my students who come from various linguistic and cultural/ethnic backgrounds. I have to admit that, having this profession, I have developed (or am developing) a sincere unbiased, unprejudiced, nonjudgemental point of view towards many different cultures. Not to say that I was prejudiced and biased towards some cultures, but I think that cultural stereotypes are an indefinite aspect of society and do influence social interactions that as hard as we try to avoid it, are a part of our ideology. I definitely had some stereotypes that I think I have been slowly released of by coming across so many different types of people and cultures and (ethnic and religious) backgrounds all in one. My students come with stories about their culture that I enjoy listening to, and they inspire certain food ideas when I come home to cook.

Ironically, I am not a huge fan of dumplings when I visit asian restaurants. However, I do not mind them, and if done right, sometimes I do enjoy them. I am not sure where the inspiration for shrimp dumplings came from. In fact, I have been fussing to make this recipe for a while now. It turned out fantastic and I really enjoyed buying/using the bamboo to steam the dumplings for the first time ever. I think the bamboo is a fantastic way to preserve the nutrients in the food and to maintain an overall healthy eating habit.

IMG_3172

I really enjoyed this recipe. It is SUPER easy and I really loved it. I paired it with a light tomato, cucumber, and avocado salad.

Time to make: 20 minutes (depends if you want to chill the shrimp with the sauce beforehand for an hour; I didn’t.)

Recipe:

  • 8 medium size shrimp (mine were already cooked)
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh ginger
  • 1 tablespoon of soya sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of egg white
  • 1 tablespoon of scallions
  • ready-made dumpling wrapper (I bought this gluten-free kind that actually tasted amazing, and the calories was about 75 for 3 dumplings. So, not bad. Be careful, there were some that had about 200 calories for 3 dumplings. The carbs and calories might add up, so choose wisely.)

Thinly slice the fresh ginger, and scallions and add to a bowl. Then add the soya sauce, egg white and shrimp and mix them all together. Refrigerate for 30 minutes if you want the sauce to fully absorb the shrimp. I didn’t this time, but I’ve made this twice already and the first time I let my shrimp sit in the fridge for about an hour. Both ways are good.

Fill the dumpling wrappers with shrimp. If you are using a bamboo, fill a large pot with about 1-2 cups of water and bring to a boil. Then, insert the bamboo with the shrimp dumplings and let them cook for about 8 minutes.

If you are not using a bamboo, you can bring water to a boil in a pot and insert the dumplings. Let them float and cook for about 7 minutes.

However, I am not an expert on non-bamboo using techniques (since I did use a bamboo), so probably watching a Youtube video might be a good idea first 🙂

Lessons Learned: I found the ginger I added gave a strong ginger taste. I love ginger but I would have loved a little less. You can pretty much add anything to the recipe and I think it will still taste delicious. I would have also loved if I added some spices, or just more salt. I didn’t add any salt because I thought the soya sauce would provide enough saltiness to the recipe. All in all, I loved it and I would do it again without a doubt.

 

IMG_2970

IMG_3170

