Home-made Sushi!!

Yes, I made sushi. Finally. I’ve been hesitant of making sushi for a while now because I always hear mixed stories about it. Some say it’s simple and some say that the rice is complicated to make. However, I decided to go for it last night! And? well? IT WAS AMAZING!

I promised myself that I would only post the most delicious and memorable recipes on my food blog because I do see this blog as a future recipe ‘digital book’ for myself. Even though I really love when I receive feedback on my recipes and I interact with likeminded social cooks (I really really love exchanging and sharing recipes) I blog because I think it’s a great way to keep track of my cooking, and to save the recipes. So, I promise that if you’re on my blog, you are viewing the results of the best recipes (according to my taste and food standards, of course :D). However, there are exceptions: when I think I can improve the recipe for next time, I will still blog it 🙂

Back to sushi. This must be the best sushi rice recipe ever. Again, comments, feedback, reviews, and YouTube likes DO make a huge difference when looking up recipes. This recipe had close to 3 million views and all the comments said it was one of the best recipe. So I went with that! Yes, the rice does take a little bit of time, but I think if you stick to the rules of the recipe and you follow it step-by-step, you’ll nail it.

yum!

yum!

It tasted so delicious, my mom is making some right now in the kitchen (using the same rice recipe) because my parents loved it so much. It’s a keeper!

Time to make: about 2 hours (for me: rice + prep time).

Recipe:

Rice Recipe 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ByXX17MpcF4

How to prep your ingredients and make rolls 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLRL18LvVyo

Lessons Learned: There were no lessons learned from the recipe. It turned out fantastic. I watched two separate videos for the rice and how to make rolls. I took my sweet time (and ended up eating sushi at 10 pm). I would say prepare the ingredients the night before. I had to run to the grocery store to buy white rice vinegar because it turned out I had seasoned rice vinegar instead. Also, the raw fish for sushi was hard to find in my local store. I wish I had planned it earlier and went to an Asian supermarket. Oh well, definitely next time. Also, this could be costly to make (in all honesty) because the ingredients aren’t usually ingredients you’d find in your cupboard, but luckily, my mom has most of the ethnic ingredients in our kitchen.

Although I had most of these ingredients, I did not use them all. I just sort of displayed them just in case, type-of-thing.

Although I had most of these ingredients, I did not use them all. I just sort of displayed them just in case, type-of-thing.

Use the rough side of seaweed.

Use the rough side of seaweed.

IMG_2121

I hope you try it and enjoy it :)

I hope you try it and enjoy it 🙂

8 thoughts on “Home-made Sushi!!

  1. Lucia and Katie says:

    Hi there! My friend and I just created a blog for the first time and were wanting to create a good follower base. If you could help us out by responding back and checking out our blog that would be very much appreciated. Thank you so much! 🙂 I don’t think I would have the guts to make sushi!

  2. Yana says:

    These look great!
    Me too, I feel a bit intimidated by idea of making sushi, but looking at your experience/feedback, I feel inspired now. I must try making it sometime soon! 🙂

Comments are closed.