Spinach ‘Asian-inspired’ Salad with Marinated Chicken

I initially began this blog as a way to digitally store great recipes to revisit them in the future and recreate them- sort of like having a recipe book, but online. So I like to blog sometimes about the complex recipes I attempt, and also about the super, super easy ones that are a no-brainer. But I have to admit, some recipes that are extremely easy and simple to make blow me away. It’s funny how one ingredient, or a salad dressing you’ve never considered before could turn your dish (or salad, in this case) into a full, fulfilling, graciously flavourful meal. And this is coming from someone who doesn’t really like salads (except greek salads, East Side Mario’s house salad, and Lebanese Fattoush Salad). I really love this salad, and my mother loved it too. I can’t express in words the heavenly taste of chilli sauce in this.

IMG_1425

Time to make: 15 minutes

Recipe:

Salad

1 cup of Spinach leaves

1/2 cup of shredded purple cabbage

1/2 avocado, sliced

1/4 cup of shredded carrot

1/4 cup of edamame beans (did not have some for this recipe, but delicious with it).

1/8 cup of shredded and thinly sliced mangos

Chicken

I marinated my chicken for two days (this happened accidentally, but oh my the taste). I used a small package of ready marinade package I bought at Whole Foods. I really would like to remember the name of it, but unfortunately, I’ve got nothing. However, any type of marinate you have for chicken will work just as well. It’s just a preference (although this marinade was so delicious). I cooked the chicken on a dry skillet for 5 minutes on each side, medium to high heat.

Sauce

I used this amazing chilli sauce I bought from Whole Foods. I put 1 tablespoon of it in my salad (watching my calorie intake)– honestly, I can’t explain how delicious this was.

I have a feeling I will be using this in pretty much all of my savoury dishes.

I have a feeling I will be using this in pretty much all of my savoury dishes.

 

 

 

 

 

I

2 thoughts on “Spinach ‘Asian-inspired’ Salad with Marinated Chicken

Leave a Reply

