The Philosophy of Cheese- My quest for discovery.

I have always fancied the idea of sampling cheese. In fact, I often wonder if such courses exist (without the initial purpose of wine being the driven factor). I would love nothing more than to understand the philosophy of cheese and to be well informed about the different types, tastes, age, and the sweet and savoury recipes I can pare cheese with. I am always enthusiastic and baffled (in that order) when I walk past the cheese isle in a grocery store. I study the all kinds of cheese display, and I leave without purchasing any. I just have no idea. You’d say, well why don’t you take the risk and try? I have. truly. But each time I’ve decided to buy a new kind of cheese, I never liked the taste. I tend to buy them with a bitter taste because I am that clueless about cheese (though I love cheese).

It hit me this afternoon while I passed by the cheese section: I should probably find videos online that explain the different gazillion types of cheese out there. Although I would love to sample some given that to each their own; in the meantime, I could get a little more educated about cheese. So, I’ve decided to go ahead and do that. I am going to research cheese, all kinds of cheese, do all the necessary background research, and then go out and buy and sample cheese. I hope to blog about that experience, and not put on weight. Fingers crossed.

IMG_1377

9 thoughts on “The Philosophy of Cheese- My quest for discovery.

  1. Lety C says:

    I personaly love cheese too! When I go to restaurants I am more adventurous, but not when I buy a piece to bring home. Last time my mother in law came to lunch I served cheese as dessert. She loved it! She doesn’t eat sugar, so that’s how I came up with this idea. I bought a piece of Gorgonzola (a cousin of blue cheese, but milder in flavor) and a brie (soft mild cheese). That way I had a strong and a mild cheese. Turn out perfect! I would love to hear about your research! 🙂

    • A Full Spoon of... says:

      That’s very interesting that you mention being more adventurous in ordering cheese in restaurants; it got me thinking that I am quite like that too. I guess it’s the belief that they have chosen the flavours of cheese that complement the platter. Thanks for you comment, I really enjoyed reading it :). I am going to give Gorgonzola a try. I love brie cheese but I recently bought brie cheese and it didn’t taste as good as when I have it in those lunch boxes from Starbucks (the protein ones). I know there are many types of brie (I think, because I see the many types) so I have yet to understand the flavours. I loved your idea of mixing both cheeses together to come up with a complimentary taste. I will definitely keep you updated of what I discover along my cheese adventure 🙂

Comments are closed.