Low-fat Raspberry Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

There’s this beautiful vibe in the air, especially this time of year, that makes you want to put an apron on, press the Play button on your favourite classical music C.D (on YouTube), and whip up brown sugar and egg whites until it is light and foamy.

With my “healthy-eating”, I try to substitute the butter to healthier ingredients to make healthier choices…but I have realized that this is a learning-in-progress task. To be quite honest, it is not always easy to find GREAT tasting recipes that are both great in taste and calories. Some times you just need to go through a couple of blunt, so-so, recipes to get to a really good one! This one wasn’t so bad. I partly blame myself for not adding bananas into the recipe (I didn’t have any)–and increasing the greek yogurt (which now that I think of it, I am not sure what I was intending to do…)…nonetheless, the muffins tasted really good! If you are a chocolate lover, this recipe is delicious. It is also VERY healthy because the semi-sweet chocolate in the recipe give it all the sweetness, so there’s no butter or sugar added at all! However, do add the bananas, I think the muffins would have turned out extra good if I had bananas to add … it will increase the sweetness too 🙂

…this grad student should REALLY be baking less and writing more …:)

Total cook time: 1 hour

Recipe: http://sallysbakingaddiction.com/2013/07/30/skinny-raspberry-chocolate-chip-banana-muffins/

Lessons learned: Add the bananas!

photo

