Autumn, Gingerbread Cookies, and Downton Abbey

I haven’t posted in SO long! I have been so unbelievably busy with school work that I don’t even get the chance to enjoy the readings I read because of the weight of my pile. But, I do immensely enjoy my program. It gives me new knowledge that I  constantly engage with, and in a way, that makes me feel good. I figured since, I’m busier than before, I would try from time to time to post a collage of what I have been up to the previous week (s) 🙂 I am immensely enjoying this autumn weather! I took a walk the other morning, and every time I do that, I wonder why I don’t do it more often. The early morning breeze, with the beautiful autumn scene, sets the mood for the entire day. It is so refreshing, calming, and therapeutical in a way.

I took this picture, how beautiful?

photo

I also discovered a lethal, lethal, gingerbread cookie recipe! I really mean it, this thing is dangerous. I was warned though, while I scrolled through some of the comments–I was told to stay away. I originally never liked gingerbread cookies so much, just because I never found a recipe I enjoyed. But this, this recipe is for ALL. Even non-cookie lovers! I will cherish this recipe forever–and I have no doubt I will be asked for the recipe each time, as well.

Since I love to bake after I have a long day at school, I also almost always convince myself that I will only “taste” the recipe, make a judgement call, and then just leave it for my family to enjoy. However, though that happens more often, this times’ judgement call was a total fail. I ate the ENTIRE batch of cookies! I just couldn’t stop…and I often have great self-discipline. Anyway, I didn’t regret it (only slightly, on the treadmill) 🙂

In short, here is the recipe: Try it at your own risk!

Gingerbread Recipe 

Total cook time: 20 minutes

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flours
  • 1 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup margarine, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 2 tablespoons white sugar

Process

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Sift together the flour, ginger, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves, and salt. Set aside. (You can always add more spice depending on desired taste; I like more ginger and cinnamon in mine).
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the margarine and 1 cup sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the egg, then stir in the water and molasses. Gradually stir the sifted ingredients into the molasses mixture. Shape dough into walnut sized balls, and roll them in the remaining 2 tablespoons of sugar. Place the cookies 2 inches apart onto an ungreased cookie sheet, and flatten slightly. 
  3. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven. Allow cookies to cool on baking sheet for 5 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely. Store in an airtight container.

Lessons Learned: Not to attempt this unless I am on all “cookie-diet” like one helpful reviewer posted (and I ignored).

Recipe taken from: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/17165/big-soft-ginger-cookies/

Most delicious gingerbread cookies, ever. Moist, moist, moist.

Most delicious gingerbread cookies, ever. Moist, moist, moist.

I do want to quickly say, before I head to my Directions in Language Teaching class that, I am SO HAPPY Downton Abbey is back on! Yes, I do live in Canada, and yes, I am cheating a little 🙂 I found a great website that posts the episodes….thank god, I do not have to wait! I am head-over-heels with this show! Episode #2 has aired already and maybe after a long day I deserve a break? Maybe? 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

