Quinoa Salad

My friend and I are constantly cooking together, and that means lots of new healthy recipes that we come up with on a daily basis. She is the same friend who gave me the black bean idea to incorporate into my tuna salads, and now I can’t go back.

So, she just introduced me to something new: Quinona. I have never had Quinona before, or heard of it, or even know how to pronounce it. I literally showed the grocery lady my phone when I was asking for assistance to find it:) Nonetheless, I bought it and we looked up a really delicious and easy to make recipe that called for black beans, diced tomato, onions, green pepper, canned corn, red cabbage and lettuce. You throw them all in there(presumably you’ll be impressed with the colors) and add salt, pepper, olive oil, lime juice, and rice vinegar to taste. While you’ve prepared all these, your Quinona is boiling on the stove (one cup of Quinona, two cups of water).. Let them boil and then reduce the heat until the water is absorbed. Let it cool.

It was DELICIOUS! Also, she opened my eyes to other recipes that I can incorporate Quinona and substitute rice for it in my healthy eating. 🙂

Posted using Tinydesk blog app

4 thoughts on “Quinoa Salad

Comments are closed.