An Evening in Italy: Starting Cooking School

My heart sank as I sat in my seat and clicked “send”. I finally sent my final research paper! I am not sure why I got a little dramatically emotional about it– but perhaps the first two courses in my master’s program are over. Time is on a ferrari. What now?

Well..I already decided to take some cooking classes at a local cooking school! I can’t imagine sitting around twirling my fingers while I can be in the kitchen and learn some essential cooking techniques …like the real way of cooking. Gosh, I would love to learn how to crack open an egg with one hand; boil spaghetti to the right temperature; and understand the difference in taste to that collection of cheese my local grocery store has. I only said “the real way of cooking” because it is easy to follow recipes and cook em’. What is more difficult to learn is little things…those that I have mentioned, plus how to properly dice a tomato (onion and potato) because I literally fail at it every time. That’s what separates cooking from cooking..you know, those tiny impressive details that make world a difference. I also would love to learn how to present my food; like decorations and technique–from presenting a fruit platter to cuisine foods.

So? I enrolled in a class this coming Wednesday: an evening in Italy. By the end of the class I am suppose to have learned how to make Romano-Stuffed Mushrooms with Garlic Butter & Prosciutto. Then for the main meal, pieces of Chicken Marsala with creamy Fettuccine Alfredo and tasty Rapini. And for dessert, delectable Chocolate-Covered Cannoli, stuffed with Mascarpone and Candied Oranges & Lemon. :D:D:D:D:D

stufdmushrooms78669 106820 choc-cannili

 

Leave a Reply

