Julia Child’s ‘Italian Inspired’ Tomato and Basil Bruschetta

I can watch documentaries all day and all night and not get bored! I absolutely love documentaries! There is something so magnificent about documentaries and the kind of information they can offer you; the trip you get to go on to explore the world; the information you receive within a click of a button; and many many more. This one documentary I came across that explores Italy has left me speechless. The rich history, art, and food of a place I am so fond of leaves me with plenty of smiles. I can go on and on about this documentary but what I absolutely enjoyed about it is the trip I took within that hour into a culture that is purely magnificent, and one that is filled with history and authentic food. I recommend this!

And while I might have sparked your interest to watch, I will go and make Julia’s REAL fried tomato and basil bruschetta! Yes, I am going to fry the bread like she does. So what? No guilt.

Total time to make: 10 minutes

Total cook time: 5 minutes

Recipe: http://highlandsranchfoodie.com/2012/08/julia-julie-and-julias-bruschetta-julia-child-quotes/

Lessons Learned: Add Balsamic, if you wish to add an authentic ‘Italian’ taste to your Bruschetta! I did! And, use homemade bread, it’s that much more tasty 🙂

Using homemade Italian bread makes the recipe that much more authentic in taste.

Using homemade Italian bread makes the recipe that much more authentic in taste.

Extra virgin olive oil, the key to Italy!

Extra virgin olive oil, the key to Italy!

Worth every bit of those calories (though I'd suggest hitting the treadmill after) but totally worth it!

Worth every bit of those calories (though I’d suggest hitting the treadmill after) but totally worth it!

IMG_0217 IMG_0216

Fantastic!

 

Leave a Reply

