Low Fat Chocolate And Banana Oat Cake

Just got off the treadmill after having spent the full day working hard on my “Cultural scripting of body parts for emotions in West Africa” presentation. Tuesday is present day and I will officially begin planning my research paper. I am kind of very excited to explore a working hypothesis, because when I get into it, I really get into it. So, since I am feeling good and semi-complaining about grad school and readings (finally up-to-date!), I am going to take the night off and bake! On the treadmill, I often watch interesting documentaries about practically anything …perfume, oatmeal, Rome, religion, etc. and I came across a documentary about eco-friendly baby products, and I was really shocked. This made me think of so many different things, and how truly important it is to take care of your home — included healthier food choices and using fresh ingredients in food. I know I have previously noted my passion to imitate authentic recipes, and I do, and I will continue, but it is crucial as well to begin exploring different cooking and baking methods…like refining some recipes (esp. Julia Child’s) because let’s face it–there is a lot of butter in that damn recipe! Anyway, back to my low-fat cake, I absolutely love the combination of chocolate, banana, and oats– especially mixed in all together. So, tonight’s the night I will attempt my first-ever banana, chocolate, and oatmeal cake! – 9:45 PM

As you noticed, I like to blog my thoughts prior to baking and post baking. I just completed this recipe, and it is now 11:30 PM. I must say, this recipe is to die for. It is one of the best desserts I have tried in the past. Best part, it is low-fat! Now, since I don’t like low-fat recipes that taste “low-fat”, this recipe is low-fat in disguise! It is so simple and easy to make …it takes a total of 5 minutes to put this together 🙂 Looks like I’m having a really good night!

Total time to make: 5 minutes

Total cook time: 1 hour and 20 minutes

Recipe: http://www.nibbledish.com/people/HungryJenny/recipes/almost-low-fat-chocolate-and-banana-oat-cake

Lessons learned: It took more than 45-50 min to cook on 180 degrees for me. I increased the time by 30 minutes.

Update: three years later …I am reading back now because this was one of my favourite recipes and I just realized that I’ve baked this as 180 degrees but the recipe was for degree C and not fahrenheit ..:)  I live in Canada, not the UK ..oops.

Cinnamon

Banana IMG_9927 IMG_9936 IMG_9937

2 thoughts on “Low Fat Chocolate And Banana Oat Cake

Comments are closed.