Julia Child’s “Cherry Clafouti”

I just came home from a long day at University.. six hours of consistent Linguistic discourse! I finally set my things aside (getting ready for a long night of studying ahead of me) and I sat to relax. While attempting to rest my brain a little, it occurred to me to search some of Julia Child’s famous recipes. Scrolling through a couple, I was glad to find some of her recipes from her cookbook “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” that were actually listed online (though I intend to buy the actual copy some day soon). I came across her “Cherry Clafouti”– and I have never had a Cherry Clafouti before, or Julia Child’s Cherry Clafouti for that matter. What is a Clafouti? The ingredients were right in my fridge (with fresh cherries), so I thought, why not unwind the day with some baking?

Total time to make: 15 minutes

Total cook time: 1 hour and 10 minutes

Recipe: http://www.food.com/recipe/julia-childs-cherry-clafouti-239454

Lessons Learned:  The texture was a little gooey! I am not sure I like “Clafouti” but I think that is merely a personal opinion. I have a feeling it is meant to taste exactly like this! Not bad, but not for my taste. 

Setting the cherries Sprinkle the remaining sugar!

Leave a Reply

