Julia Child’s “Croissant”

My first Julia Child recipe attempt, French croissant. Typically, one should start with the “easy” recipes before diving straight into making croissants …we all know how difficult croissants are to make to begin with! However, the difficulty was not in the recipe, but more so in it being very time-consuming. With eight articles to read and annotate, my time was precious!

Total time to make: 1 day, 4 hours

Total cook time: 15 minutes

Recipe: Julia Child French chef Croissants part 1-3 (YouTube)

Lessons Learned: Do not heat the oven at 475 degrees. Instead, 400 would do just fine. My precious croissants burned all because Julia lied!

After choosing to refrigerate my dough overnight, I woke up to begin my four rounds of beating, folding, and re-refregirating my dough twice for a total amount of four hours.

You can see the butter Cutting the dough in 3!

Finally, after the hard work, glazed and ready for the oven!

Finally, after the hard work, glazed and ready for the oven!

I needed some time to grasp the amount of hard work put into my croissant and the results. Burnt slightly, but they do taste great!

I will attempt this again!

4 thoughts on “Julia Child’s “Croissant”

  1. Lynn Gilbert says:

    What an elegant website. If your cooking is as classy as your website, you’ll be a great cook.

    I also assume you’ll be a perfectionist in your studies. I hope it will give you the same pleasure as cooking.

    • A Full Spoon of.. says:

      Thank you! I can’t take credit for the layout because wordpress sort of chose that on my behalf. It is indeed classy! It reminds me a bit of the victorian era with a french twist to it …and since I enjoy literature and french cuisine (particularly Julia Child’s French cooking) I thought it fit well! Thanks for the comment and compliment. I hope I prove to be a “classy” cook and a “classy” Linguist in the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

